In the early 1920s, the Potpourri, Northwestern’s yearbook, sponsored the first beauty pageant held on the university campus. The contestants were selected from photographs submitted to well-known movie producers for judging and were chosen for their charm and beauty.


In 1958, Miss Kahne Dipola was crowned the first Miss Lady of the Bracelet and she received a gold bracelet to wear when she represented the university in public. Over the years, the bracelet has been passed down to each holder of the prestigious title.


Through the efforts of Mr. Robert W. Wilson, Sr., the Student Union Governing Board purchased the first franchise from the Miss Louisiana Pageant in 1971, enabling Northwestern’s Lady of the Bracelet to enter the state contest.


The Student Activities Board, formerly the Student Union Governing Board, has continued the tradition of sponsoring the Lady of the Bracelet Pageant for the enjoyment of the Northwestern community. The Lady of the Bracelet Pageant has gained state recognition for production, scholarship, and quality of contestants.

1959     Kahne Dipola


1960     Bobbie Sue Craft

1961     Barbara Jean Dowden

1962     Pat Cooper

1963     Pat Fulton

1964     Sherry Boucher-Lytle

1965     Ann Cleveland

1966     Pat Pace

1967     Pam Rushing

1968     Marcie Fowler

1969     Zelma Pylant

1970     Bonnie Martin

1971     Kay McKnight

1972     Elaine Rainey

1973     Lisa Thompson

1974     Lehn Dohnman

1975      Bonnie Outlaw

1976     Cheryl Purcell

1977     Venetia Lee

1978     Barbi Jenkins

1979     Zina Curlee

1980     Stacia Caldwell

1981      Jennifer Todd

1982     Kayla Murphy

1983     Lesa Hatley

1984     Elycia Graham

1985     Chrissey Bailey

1986     Kay Lane

1987     Dayna Dooley

1988     Carol Jordan

1989     Cindy Bethel

1990     Karen Engeron

1991     Patty Breckenridge

1992     Cathy Huey

1993     Melissa Mabou

1994     Rebecca Bacle

1995     Leigh Cole

1996     Jennifer Fox

1997     Farrah Reyna

1998     Rebecca Dauzat

1999     Shelley Colvin

2000     Sabrina Plaisance

2001     Kristen Holly

2002     Amanda Crain

2003     Lacey Fletcher

2004     Alicia Schulz

2005     Courtney LaCaze

2006     Raven Bryson

2007     Corina Harwood

2008     Mandi Ridgdell

2009     Brittany Pippin

2010     Carley McCord

2011     Ruth Fruge’

2012     Tori Thompson

2013     Breanna Collier

2014     Taylor Layman

2015     Taylor Walker

2016     Marissa McMickens

© 2014 Traditions of Northwestern State University of Louisiana